RSS

New Article on Examiner: Great Moments in Online Dating Fails

29 Nov

Online dating can be a wonderful thing. Obviously I fully support this view or else this column wouldn’t even exist. In a world where sometimes people genuinely don’t have the time or desire to peruse the bar scene, online dating becomes an ideal alternative. Rather than spending night after night meeting Mr./Ms. No on the regular, you have the potential to cast your net wider from the comfort of your home. Likewise, online dating provides a nice layer of anonymity so that you don’t have to officially reveal personal details about yourself (such as name, phone number, etc) until you’re truly ready. Depending on the dating platform you use, you can get new matches sent to you as soon as they occur or at set intervals. And, some sites even offer a personalized touch in the way of matchmaking.

Now for the record, everyone knows that I’m not against matchmakers. Sometimes, it takes an objective third party to see potential mates for us when maybe we wouldn’t see it as clearly on our own. But today, I saw something that really made me do a double take. It felt to me, like someone had taken the lazy approach to online dating and multiplied it to an extreme level. I’ve kindly blurred out the email and posting ID attached to this Craigslist ad that was placed in the writing jobs section of the New York board. But what we have here is a Wall Street executive who’s too busy to set up their own dating profiles or even take the time to connect with a potential match to set up times for a call. And for some reason, it put me in mind of the character Jeffery Donovan played in the movie Hitch, Vance Munson. If it doesn’t ring a bell, watch the video in this article.

Read the full article here

For more of my Examiner articles, click Examiner or Articles from the categories in the right sidebar.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 29, 2012 in Articles, Dating, Dorian Smith, Examiner

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “New Article on Examiner: Great Moments in Online Dating Fails

  1. my ex back

    December 7, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it
    helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others
    like you helped me.

     

Leave a comment